• Need Help? Call +254 020 2714073 / 4 , +254 729 407497

11th Edition, Kalasha International Film and TV Awards

Synonymous with big names in the film industry, the glamorous black-tie gala event at Safari Park Hotel marked the 11th edition of the Kalasha Awards and as expected, lived up to the hype.

Graced by Jerome Ochieng’ – Principal Secretary, State Department of Innovation, Ministry of ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs, was the Chief Guest at this event and commended the Kenya Film Commission for their steadfast commitment towards supporting the industry.

Kenya Film Commission CEO Mr. Timothy Owase, congratulated all those who made submissions for their excellent work and reiterated the key mandate of the commission which is to develop a vibrant local film and television industry, which in turn creates jobs and wealth in our country.

Notably, was the increased number of student categories submissions in documentaries and feature films with some competing in different categories such as advertising indicating a strong film culture being natured from early stages signaling a good direction in film industry development.

Final list of winners was;

  • Best Feature film by a student- House of secrets by USIU Africa
  • Best Documentary- Kesho Pia Ni Simu By Ngendo Muku
  • Best Special Effects- Mission To Rescue
  • Best TV Drama- Njoro Wa Uba
  • Best Host In A TV Show- Abiagael Wariara in Bururi wa Ciana
  • Best Lead Actor in a film- Mawuli Gavor in Just In Time
  • Best Supporting Actor In A Film- John Ndegwa in Kutu
  • Best Sound Designer- Kelvin Osoo in House Of Secrets
  • Best Original Score- Karanja kiarie in Crossroads
  • Best Supporting Actress In A Film-Catherine Kamau In Kutu
  • Lead Actress In A Film-Sarah Hassan in Just In Time
  • Best Lighting Technician- Walter Odhiambo in Adisa
  • Best Original Screenplay-Dennis Humphrey in Fikirini
  • Best Director Of Photography-Ryab Tenga in Teleport
  • Best Short Film-Kutu
  • Best Local Language Film-Fikirini
  • Best Production Designer-Harrison Mutinda
  • Best Lead Actor In a TV drama-Joe Kinyua in Njoro Wa Uba
  • Best TV Comedy- XYZ show
  • Best Lead Actress In A TV Drama-Sarah Hassan Crime And Justice
  • Best Documentary By A Student-Beautiful Eyes By Kevin Muriithi Mbui
  • Kituo Halisi- KUtv
  • Best Performance In A TV Comedy- Frank Kimani in Varshita
  • Best Animation- Mondays And Fridays by Shawn Mwendwa
  • Best TV advertisement- Copia
  • Best Kids Production- Bururi Wa Ciana
  • Best International Award Eastern Africa- Egna (Ethiopia)
  • Best Director- Michelle Donde in House Of Secrets
  • Best Feature Film- Just In Time By Sarah Hassan and Dolabo Adeleke

Lifetime Achievement Award- Judy Kibinge